Home button

English 0999.01A schedule, fall 2020

Updated 9/7/20

This schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.  I will make additions and adjustments as need arises, giving ample notice in class and on the web when making changes in the schedule.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Wednesday, August 12  

Course syllabus
0999 syllabus supplement

Introduction to course
Monday, August 17 Drop/add ends   Simple Stuff
Writing exercise 1
Wednesday, August 19 Reflection 1
GR quiz
GR quiz answers
Golden rules 6-10  
Monday, August 24    

Writing exercise 2
Writing workshop

Wednesday, August 26 Reflection 2 Mindset video 1  
Monday, August 31     InQuizitive setup
Writing workshop
Wednesday, Sept. 2 Reflection 3 Mindset video 2  
Monday, Sept. 7 Labor Day holiday Labor Day holiday Labor Day holiday
Wednesday, Sept. 9     Writing exercise 3 
 
(on paper assignment)
Sample paper proposal
InQuizitive: start on
    Editing the Errors That Matter
Friday, Sept. 11 Reflection 4
InQuizitive: complete
  Editing the Errors That Matter
Mindset video 3  
Monday, Sept. 14     Writing workshop
 
(introductions)
Wednesday, Sept. 16 Reflection 5
InQuizitive: Subject-Verb and Tense Forms
Mindset video 4  
Monday, Sept. 21 Nothing due: work on 1101 papers!    
Wednesday, Sept. 23     Writing exercise 4
 
(on argumentation)
Monday, Sept. 28 Reflection 6
InQuizitive: Sentence Fragments
Mindset video 5 Writing workshop
 
(plagiarism work)
Wednesday, Sept. 30 Plagiarism module work
InQuizitive
 
Monday, October 5     Writing workshop
 
(corrections work and paper 2)
Wednesday, October 7 InQuizitive    
Monday, October 12 Last day to withdraw 
with "W" grade
 
  Writing workshop
 
(peer editing)
Wednesday, Oct. 14 Writing Center visit
InQuizitive
   
Monday, October 19     Writing workshop
 
(conclusions)
Wednesday, Oct. 21 Writing exercise 5
 
(on conclusions)
InQuizitive
   
Monday, October 26     Writing workshop
 
(corrections work and paper 3)
Wednesday, Oct. 28 InQuizitive    
Monday, November 2     Writing workshop
 
(peer editing and tba)
Wednesday, November 4 InQuizitive    
Monday, November 9     Writing workshop
 
(tba)
Wednesday, November 11 InQuizitive    
Monday, November 16     Writing workshop
 
(test-taking)
Wednesday, November 18 Writing Center visit
InQuizitive
   
Monday, November 23     Writing workshop
 
(paper 4 work)
Wednesday, November 25     Writing workshop
 
(exam prep)
Thursday-Sunday,
November 26-29
Thanksgiving holiday Thanksgiving holiday Thanksgiving holiday
Final exam online
Tuesday-Friday,
December 1-4
Reflection 7