Home button

English 1101.01A schedule, fall 2020

Updated 11/24/20

This schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.  I will make additions and adjustments as need arises, giving ample notice in class and on the web when making changes in the schedule.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Wednesday, August 12  

Course syllabus
1101 syllabus supplement
1101 grades and grading

Introduction to course
Monday, August 17 Student info (online)
Drop/add ends
Golden rules 1-5
Little, Brown Reader (LBR):
  "Hollow Claims about Fantasy . . ." 109-11
  "Letting Go" 164-66
Simple Stuff
Writing exercise 1
Wednesday, August 19 Writing exercise 2 Simple Stuff
Golden rules 6-10
 
Monday, August 24 Golden rules exam (D2L quiz)

LBR: "The Family" 143-44
  "Big Mother Is Watching" 428-31

Writing exercise 3
Wednesday, August 26 ENGL 1101 pre-test (D2L assessment course quiz) Nuggets 1-5  
Monday, August 31   Nuggets 6-10
LBR: "Eminem Is Right" 171-84
Writing exercise 4
Wednesday, Sept. 2

Nuggets quiz
Nuggets quiz answers

   
Monday, Sept. 7 Nuggets exam (D2L quiz)
Labor Day holiday
Labor Day holiday Labor Day holiday
Wednesday, Sept. 9   Quotations 1-3
LBR: "What If Marriage Is Bad for Us?" 160-63

Handout: "My Husband's Nine Wives"

Paper 1 assigned

Friday, Sept. 11 Paper 1 proposal due in D2L by 5:00 p.m. Quotations 4-5  
Monday, Sept. 14

Quotations quiz
Quotations quiz answers

On plagiarism  
Wednesday, Sept. 16 Paper 1 draft due in D2L by 11:00 p.m.    
Friday, Sept. 18 Peer response 1    
Monday, Sept. 21 Paper 1 final draft due in D2L by midnight    
Wednesday, Sept. 23 Persuasive format sample 1
LBR: "Class Dismissed" 294-96
Persuasive format
Monday, Sept. 28   Word problems
Handout: "Why Do American Kids Learn So Little?"
Writing exercise 5
Wednesday, Sept. 30 Word problems exam (D2L quiz)
   
Monday, October 5 In-class essay (D2L quiz) LBR: "Proposal to Abolish Grading" 312-14
  "In Defense of Testing" 315-16
  "Two Cheers for Examinations" 317-20
Paper 2 assigned
Wednesday, October 7 Paper 1 corrections    
Friday, October 9 Paper 2 proposal due by 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, October 12 Paper 2 draft

Last day to withdraw 

with "W" grade
 
LBR: "Work" 331-36
Handout: "What You Do Is What You Are"
 
Wednesday, Oct. 14

Peer response 2

   
Monday, October 19 Paper 2 final draft due in D2L by midnight LBR: "Brains as Well as Brawn" 337-38
  "Case for Working with Your Hands" 338-47
 
Wednesday, Oct. 21 In-class essay corrections    
Monday, October 26 Quotations exam (D2L quiz) Handouts: "Work, Labor and Play"
  "The Importance of Work"
Paper 3 assigned
Wednesday, Oct. 28 Paper 3 proposal    
Monday, November 2 Paper 3 draft in D2L by 10:00 a.m. Online: "Barbie Doll"
LBR: "I Want a Wife" 150-51
 
Wednesday, November 4 Paper 2 corrections    
Friday, November 6 Peer response 3    
Monday, November 9 Paper 3 final draft LBR: "Women's Brains" 223-28
  "You Are What You Say" 368-73

  "The Second Shift" 144-49
 
Wednesday, November 11      
Monday, November 16   Online: "Hard Rock"
LBR
: "The Male Myth" 229-31
Handout: "The 'Act Like a Man' Box"
 
Wednesday, November 18 ENGL 1101 post-test (D2L assessment course quiz)    
Monday, November 23   Handouts: "Men as Success Objects"
    "The Men We Carry in Our Minds"
Paper 4 assigned
Wednesday, November 25 Paper 4 proposal
   
Thursday-Sunday,
November 26-29
Thanksgiving holiday Thanksgiving holiday Thanksgiving holiday
Final exam online
Tuesday-Friday,
December 1-4
Final exam essay (D2L quiz)
Paper 3 corrections
in D2L
Paper 4 final draft in D2L
Papers 1-3 rewrites (optional)