Home button

English 1101.09A schedule, fall 2022

Updated 9/27/22

This schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Wednesday, August 10  

 

Course syllabus
1101 syllabus supplement
1101 grades and grading
Monday, August 15 Student info (online)
Simple Stuff
Golden rules 1-5

Writing exercise 1

Tuesday, August 16 Drop/add ends
Wednesday, August 17 Golden rules 6-10
Little, Brown Reader (LBR):
  "Hollow Claims about Fantasy . . ." 109-11
 
Monday, August 22
LBR: "Letting Go" 164-66  
Wednesday, August 24 Writing exercise 2 LBR: "Big Mother Is Watching" 428-31 Writing exercise 3
Monday, August 29   Nuggets 1-3
Handout:
"Obsessed with Sport"
Writing exercise 4
Wednesday, August 31 Golden rules exam (D2L quiz)

No class meeting

No class meeting
Wednesday, September 7   Nuggets 4-7
Handout: "It Isn't Just a Game"
Paper 1 assigned
Friday, September 9

Paper 1 proposal due at 5:00 p.m.

Monday, September 12 Paper 1 draft Nuggets 8-10
On plagiarism
Peer response 1
Wednesday, September 14 Paper 1 final draft Quotations 1-2
LBR: "Class Dismissed" 294-96
Persuasive format
Monday, September 19   Quotations 3-4
Persuasive format sample 1
Handout: "Why Do American Kids Learn So Little?"
 
Wednesday, September 21   Quotations 5 Nuggets exam (D2L quiz)
Monday, September 26   LBR: "Proposal to Abolish Grading" 312-14
  "In Defense of Testing" 315-16
  "Two Cheers for Examinations" 317-20
Writing exercise 5
Wednesday, September 28     Paper 2 assigned
In-class essay
Friday, September 30 Paper 2 proposal due at 5:00 p.m.
Monday, October 3 Paper 1 corrections
Word problems  
Wednesday, October 5

Paper 2 draft

Word problems exam (D2L quiz)

LBR: "Work" 331-36 Peer response 2
Monday, October 10 Paper 2 final draft Handout: "What You Do Is What You Are"  
Wednesday, October 12 Last day to withdraw 
with "W" grade
LBR: "Brains as Well as Brawn" 337-38
  "Case for Working with Your Hands" 338-47
 
Monday, October 17   Handouts: "Work, Labor and Play"
  "The Importance of Work"
Paper 3 assigned
Wednesday, October 19 Paper 3 proposal Proposal conferences Proposal conferences
Monday, October 24 Paper 3 draft Quotations 5 Peer response 3
Wednesday, October 26 In-class essay corrections LBR: "Why Boys Don't Play with Dolls" 232-35  
Friday, October 28 Paper 2 corrections
Monday, October 31 Paper 3 final draft Online: "Barbie Doll"
LBR: "I Want a Wife" 150-51
 
Wednesday, November 2   LBR: "Women's Brains" 223-28
  "You Are What You Say" 368-73

  "The Second Shift" 144-49
 
Monday, November 7 Quotations exam (D2L quiz) Online: "Hard Rock"
LBR
: "The Male Myth" 229-31
Handout: "The 'Act Like a Man' Box"
 
Wednesday, November 9  

Handouts: "Men as Success Objects"
    "The Men We Carry in Our Minds"

Paper 4 assigned
Friday, November 11 Paper 3 proposal due at 5:00 p.m.
Monday, November 14

Paper 3 corrections
Paper 4 draft

Conferences Conferences
Wednesday, November 16 Writing Matters Test (D2L quiz)
Paper 4 draft
  Peer response 4
Monday-Friday,
November 21-25
Thanksgiving holiday
Monday, November 28 Paper 4 final draft Handout: "The Prisoner's Dilemma"  
Wednesday, November 30   LBR: tba  
 
Final exam
Monday, December 5
8:00-10:00
Paper 1-3 rewrites   Final exam essay