Home button

English 1102.34 schedule, spring 2017

Updated 4/24/17

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Tuesday, January 10  

Course syllabus
1102 syllabus supplement
1102 grades and grading

Introduction to course
Writing exercise 1

Thursday, January 12
     Drop/add ends

Student info form (online)
Syllabus quiz (in D2L) 

Simple Stuff
Golden rules 1-5
Persuasive format
Norton: "A&P" 163-67

 
Tuesday, January 17 Writing exercise 2

Golden rules 6-10
Format sample essay
Norton
: Trifles 1155-65

 
Thursday, January 19

 

Nuggets 1-5
Norton: A Raisin in the Sun 1456-84
   
Tuesday, January 24  

Nuggets 6-10
Norton:
A Raisin in the Sun 1484-1520

      
Thursday, January 26   Quotations 1-3
Norton
: A Doll House 1654-1704
Paper 1 assigned
Writing exercise 3  
Tuesday, January 31 Paper proposal 1 Quotations 4-5
In-class essay 1
Thursday, February 2

 

Word problems
Format sample 2
On plagiarism
Norton: "Introduction to Poetry" 733

Introductions
Conclusions

Tuesday, February 7 Writing matters test (D2L quiz)
Paper 1 draft

Elements of poetry
Norton: "Poetry" 731
  "[Shall I compare thee . . . ?]" 844
  "Shall I Compare Thee . . . ?"

Peer response 1
Thursday, February 9  

Norton: "Sympathy" 802
  "Ballad of the Landlord" 744-45
  "To a Daughter Leaving Home" 762-63
  "Last Night" 803
  "The Twenty-Third Psalm" 845
  "The Victims" 904
  "[My Life had stood—a Loaded Gun—]"
      989-90

 
Tuesday, February 14 Paper 1 final draft  Norton: "How Do I Love Thee?" 936
  "love poem" 1123-24
  "To My Dear and Loving Husband" 877
  "On Her Loving Two Equally" 712-13
  "Dover Beach" 766-67
  "[My lady's presence . . . red]" 933
  "[My mistress' eyes are nothing . . .]" 933
  "[Let me not . . true minds]" 934
 
Thursday, February 16 In-class essay 1 corrections Norton: "On My First Son" 1118-19
  "The Vacuum" 857
  "[Stop all the clocks . . .]" 802-3 
  "The Raven" 1127-30
  "Do Not Go Gentle . . ." 922
  "[After great pain, . . . ]" 990
  "[Death, be not proud]" 1106
 
Tuesday, February 21   Norton: "Barbie Doll" 1124-25
  "To the Ladies" 750-51 
  "Daystar" 762
  "Marks" 838
  "Disabled" 751-52
  "Hard Rock Returns . . ." 1121-22
  "We Real Cool" 745
Paper 2 assigned 
Thursday, February 23  

Norton: "Those Winter Sundays" 814
  "Snapshots of a Daughter-in-Law"
     959-63
  "Sex without Love" 827
  "We Wear the Mask" 1109

  "Church Going" 909-10
  "The Road Not Taken" 856-57
  "Ode on a Grecian Urn" 1119-20

 
Friday, February 24 Paper proposal 2
via email by 6:00 p.m.
   
Tuesday, February 28 Paper 2 draft  

 

Peer response 2
Thursday, March 2 Paper 1 corrections
Paper 2 final draft 
   
Monday March 6-
Sunday March 12
 Spring break
 Spring break
 Spring break
Tuesday, March 14   Elements of fiction
Norton
: "The Story of an Hour" 523-25
  "Hills Like White Elephants" 634-38
  "Shiloh" 645-55
 
Wednesday, March 15
Last day to withdraw 
with "W" grade
   
Thursday, March 16 Terminology test (D2L quiz)

Norton: "Cathedral" 32-42
  "The Cask of Amontillado" 178-84
  "Where Are You Going . . .?" 125-37

 
Tuesday, March 21 Paper 2 corrections Norton: "A Good Man Is Hard to Find" 470-81
  "Everything That Rises Must Converge"
       495-506
Paper 3 assigned
Thursday, March 23   Norton: "The Things They Carried" 564-77
  "The Lives of the Dead" 72-83
  "An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge"
        599-605
 
Friday, March 24 Paper proposal 3
via email by 6:00 p.m.
   
Tuesday, March 28     Writing exercise 4
Library orientation
Thursday, March 30 Paper 3 draft   Peer response 3 
Tuesday, April 4 Paper 3 final draft     Norton: Death of a Salesman 1709-34  
Thursday, April 6  

Norton: Death of a Salesman 1734-58

 
Tuesday, April 11   Norton: Death of a Salesman 1758-75  
Thursday, April 13   Norton: A Streetcar Named Desire 1817-42  
Tuesday, April 18   Norton: A Streetcar Named Desire 1842-68 Paper 4 assigned
Thursday, April 20   Norton: A Streetcar Named Desire 1868-83  
Friday, February 24 Paper proposal 4
via email by 6:00 p.m.
   
Tuesday, April 25 Paper 4 draft Norton: "My Last Duchess" 1103-4 Peer response 4
Thursday, April 27   Norton: "The Love Song of . . . Prufrock"
      1110-13
Discuss exam
Thursday, May 4th,
   10:30-12:30

Paper 3 corrections
Paper 4 final draft

  Final exam

Note that this schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.  I will make additions and adjustments as need arises, giving ample notice in class and on the web when making changes in the schedule.