Home button

English 1102.02H schedule, spring 2020

Updated 4/19/20

 

 Dates

 

 

 Readings

 

 Assignments

Monday, March 30-Thursday, April 2   Norton: Death of a Salesman 1758-75 Threaded discussion in D2L
Thursday, April 2-Monday, April 6   Norton: A Streetcar Named Desire 1817-42 Threaded discussion in D2L
Monday, April 6-Sunday, April 12  

Norton: A Streetcar Named Desire 1842-83
Get paper 3 assignment

Reading quiz 7 in D2L
Threaded discussion in D2L
Paper 2 corrections
Paper 3 proposal

Monday, April 13-Sunday, April 19

 

Pride and Prejudice 1-91
      (Vol. 1, chaps. 1-23)
Threaded discussion in D2L
Monday, April 20-Sunday, April 26   Pride and Prejudice 91-201
      (Vol. 2, ch. 1-Vol. 3, ch. 6; or chaps. 24-48)

Threaded discussion in D2L
Writing exercise 5: Paper conference
Paper 3 final draft

Monday, April 27-Friday, May 1   Pride and Prejudice 201-62
      (Vol. 3, chs. 7-19; or chaps. 49-61)
Threaded discussion in D2L
Saturday, May 2-Monday, May 4,     Paper 3 corrections
Final exam in D2L

 

  Pre-Corona-virus (way back when!):

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Thursday, January 9  

Course syllabus
1102 syllabus supplement
1102 grades and grading

(No class meeting)

Monday, January 13: Drop/add ends

Tuesday, January 14 Student info form (online)
Syllabus quiz (in D2L) 

Simple Stuff
Golden rules 1-3
Norton: "A&P" 163-67

Persuasive format
Thursday, January 16  

Golden rules 4-7
Norton: Trifles 1155-65

 
Tuesday, January 21

Writing exercise 2
Syllabus input

Golden rules 8-10
Format sample essay

Norton: A Raisin in the Sun 1456-73

Writing exercise 1
Thursday, January 23

 

Nuggets 1-3
Norton: A Raisin in the Sun 1473-98

 
Tuesday, January 28  

Nuggets 4-6
Norton: A Raisin in the Sun 1498-1520

Paper 1 assigned
Writing exercise 3
Thursday, January 30 Paper proposal 1

Nuggets 8-10
Format sample 2
On plagiarism
Elements of fiction
Norton: "The Story of an Hour" 523-25

 
Tuesday, February 4 Paper 1 complete draft

Quotations 1-3
Norton: "Hills Like White Elephants" 634-38

Peer response 1
Thursday, February 6   Quotations 4-5
Norton: "Cathedral" 32-42
  "Shiloh" 645-55
 
Friday, February 7 Paper 1 final draft in D2L
Tuesday, February 11   Word problems
Norton: "A Good Man Is Hard to Find" 470-81
  "Everything That Rises Must Converge"
       495-506
 
Thursday, February 13  

In-class essay
Friday, February 14 Writing matters test (D2L quiz)
Tuesday, February 18   Elements of poetry
Norton: "Poetry" 731-32
 "Introduction to Poetry" 733
 "[Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?]" 844
  "Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer's Day?"
 "[The sky is low—the Clouds are mean]" 708
  "[I wandered lonely as a cloud]" 705-6
  "A Red, Red Rose" 840
  "On Her Loving Two Equally" 712-13
  "Sestina" 925
 
Thursday, February 20   Norton: "Lies" 823
 "Beat! Beat! Drums!" 880-81
 "Dover Beach" 766-67
 "The Dover Bitch" 775-76
 "After a Death" 860
  "[Because I could not stop for Death—]" 839
  "The Leap" 849-50
  "Home Burial" 1113-16
  "The Raven" 1127-30
 
Tuesday, February 25

Paper 1 corrections

Norton: "My Mother" 814-15
  "To a Daughter Leaving Home" 762-63
  "The Flea" 764
  "To The Ladies" 750-51
  "We Real Cool" 745
  "[Wild Nights—Wild Nights!]" 989
 
Thursday, February 27   Norton: "Last Night" 803
  "Africa" 785-86
  "Sympathy" 802
  "Of the Threads That Connect the Stars" 816
  "[Like as the waves make towards the . . .]" 879-80
  "The Road Not Taken" 856-57
Introductions
Conclusions
Tuesday, March 3 Terminology test (D2L quiz)
In-class essay corrections
Norton: "The Victims" 904
"Ode to a Nightingale" 854-56
  "Ode to the West Wind" 907-9
  "What Is the Zoo for What" 842-44
Paper 2 assigned
Thursday, March 5

Paper proposal 2
Writing exercise 4

Norton: "Soliloquy of the Spanish Cloister" 737-39
  "This Be the Verse" 817
  "Barbie Doll" 1124-25
  "My Last Duchess" 1103-4
 
Monday, March 9 Paper 2 complete draft
Tuesday, March 10   Norton: Death of a Salesman 1709-39  

Wednesday, March 11: Last day to withdraw with "W" grade

Thursday, March 12 Peer response 2

Norton: Death of a Salesman 1739-58

 
Monday, March 16 Paper 2 final draft (in D2L)
Monday March 16- Sunday March 22: Spring break

Note that this schedule of readings and assignments is tentative. I will make additions and adjustments as need arises, giving notice in class and online.