English 201 schedule, spring 2004
Sections 201.04 and 201.05

Note that this schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.  I will make additions and adjustments as need arises, giving ample notice in class and on the web when making changes in the schedule.

Updated 4/14/04
Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Thursday, January 15    

Introduction to course
201 grades
Simple Stuff

Tuesday, January 20 Personal info (online)
Simple Stuff Exercise
Drop/add ends
Golden rules 1-10
Beowulf
23-55
 
Thursday, January 22 Golden rules quiz
GR quiz answered
Beowulf 55-74  
Tuesday, January 27 Golden rules exam (online) Nuggets 1-10
Beowulf
74-94
 
Thursday, January 29

Nuggets quiz
Nuggets quiz answered

Sir Gawain & the Green Knight 119-44 On plagiarism
Tuesday, February 3 Nuggets exam (online) Quotes & documentation 1-5
Sir Gawain & the Green Knight 144-73
Paper 1 assigned
Thursday, February 5

Quotes/documentation quiz
QD quiz answered

The Canterbury Tales:
   (Penguin edition)
 
"The General Prologue" 3-26
 
Tuesday, February 10 QD exam (online)
Paper 1 proposal
"The Miller's Tale" 86-106 Word problems
Thursday, February 12 Word problems quiz (online) "The Wife of Bath's Tale" 258-92  
Tuesday, February 17 Paper 1 "The Pardoner's Tale" 241-58  
Thursday, February 19   Morte Darthur 294-313 Sample midterm
passages
Tuesday, February 24     

Midterm 1

Thursday, February 26   Part 1 of Henry IV 506-30  
Tuesday, March 2   1 Henry IV 530-50  
Thursday, March 4 Mid-term grades turned in Class canceled Class canceled
Tuesday, March 9   1 Henry IV 551-75  
Wednesday, March 10 Last day to withdraw with "W" grade    
Thursday, March 11   Henry V 5-41 (Bantam edition) (1.1-2.4)  
Tuesday, March 16   Henry V 42-82 (3.0-4.2)  
Thursday, March 18   Henry V 82-119 (4.3-5.2)   
Monday, March 22-
Friday, March 26
Spring break Spring break Spring break
Tuesday, March 30 Paper 1 corrections Paradise Lost 722-42 Paper 2 assigned
Thursday, April 1    Paradise Lost 742-77  
Tuesday, April 6 Paper 2 proposal Paradise Lost 811-36  
Thursday, April 8     Midterm 2
Tuesday, April 13   The Rape of the Lock 1134-53  
Thursday, April 15   Gulliver's Travels 969-1012  
Tuesday, April 20 Paper 2 Gulliver's Travels 1012-54  
Thursday, April 22   Gulliver's Travels 1054-67  
Tuesday, April 27   Gulliver's Travels 1067-1113 Review for exam
Final exams
201.04 (TTH 9:30):
Thursday, April 29, 8:00-11:00

201.05
(TTH 1:00):
Monday, May 3,
1:00-4:00
Paper 2 corrections