Home button

English 2111.03 schedule, spring 2023

Updated 1/22/2023

This schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Thursday, January 12  

 

Course syllabus
21XX syllabus supplement
2000-4000 grades and grading
Tuesday, January 17 Student info (online)
Drop/add ends
Simple Stuff
Elements of fiction
Norton Anthology Vol. A:
   Gilgamesh
, pp. 89-122

 
or as plan b,:
   Overview & plot summary
   and online Gilgamesh, pp. 1-15

 
Thursday, January 19  

Golden rules 1-5
Elements of poetry
Norton
: Gilgamesh, pp. 122-45
   (
or online Gilgamesh, pp. 16-24)

 
Tuesday, January 24 Terminology test (D2L quiz)  Golden rules 6-10
Norton:
Homer headnote, pp. 216-17, 220-31
   The Odyssey
I-VI 325-93
   (or Gutenberg eBook, Books 1-6)
About the epic
Thursday, January 26   Nuggets 1-5
The Odyssey
VI-XII 393-465
 
Tuesday, January 31  

Nuggets 6-10
The Odyssey, XIII-XVIII 465-535

 
Thursday, February 2   Quotations 1-4
The Odyssey XIX-XXIV 535-602
 
Tuesday, February 7   Quotations 5
Sophocles headnote 681-85

   Oedipus the King
687-724
 
Thursday, February 9   Word problems
Euripides headnote 756-58
   Medea 759-90
Paper 1 assigned
Tuesday, February 14 Writing matters test (D2L quiz) Aristophanes headnote 791-93
   Lysistrata
793-827
 
Thursday, February 16 Paper 1 proposal On plagiarism
Catullus headnote 902-4
   Catullus Poems 904-21

 
Tuesday, February 21   Virgil headnote 922-26
   Aeneid excerpts 926-67
 
Thursday, February 23   Aeneid excerpts 967-1014 Discuss midterm
Friday, February 24 Paper 1
Tuesday, February 28     Midterm exam
Thursday, March 2   Norton Vol B:
  
Song of Roland
excerpts 220-51
 
Tuesday, March 7   Roland excerpts 251-86
 
Thursday, March 9  

1001 Nights excerpts, 597-628

 
Tuesday, March 14   Sir Gawain & the Green Knight 835-61  
Wednesday, March 15 Last day to withdraw 
with "W" grade
Thursday, March 16    Sir Gawain & the Green Knight 861-90  
Monday-Friday,
March 20-24
Spring Break
Tuesday, March 28   Dante headnote 387-91
   Inferno 391-441
 
Thursday, March 30   Inferno 441-90  
Tuesday, April 4   Inferno 491-548  
Thursday, April 6   Handout: The Praise of Folly

 

Tuesday, April 11   Norton Vol C:
Cervantes headnote 357-62
   Don Quixote 362-40;
 
Thursday, April 13   Don Quixote 464-73 Paper 2 assigned 
Tuesday, April 18 Paper 2 proposal Shakespeare headnote 651-55
   Hamlet, 655-77
 
Thursday, April 20   Hamlet 677-716 On research
Tuesday, April 25   Hamlet 717-51  
Thursday, April 27   Milton headnote 770-73
Paradise Lost Book I
 
Monday-Friday,
April 21-25
Thanksgiving holiday
Tuesday, April 29   Paradise Lost 814-42
Discuss exam
 
Final exam
Paper 2 corrections   Final exam