Home button

 

Professional Writing 3180, fall 2018

Updated 11/12/18

This schedule of readings and assignments is tentative. I will make adjustments as needed.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Mon, August.13     Introduction to course
Course syllabus
On plagiarism

          Unit 1: Library research tools and source types

Thurs, August 16

Student info (online)
Drop/add ends

  Syllabus quiz (in D2L)
Research exercise 1 assigned
Mon, August 20 Research exercise 1   Individual project 1 assigned
Thurs, August 23     Conduct library research
Mon, August 27 Individual project 1   Research exercise 2 assigned
Individual project 2 assigned

          Unit 2: Quality academic research

Thurs, August 30 Research exercise 2   Conduct academic research
Mon, Sept 3 Labor Day holiday
Thurs, Sept 6 Individual project 2    

          Unit 3: Research and the workplace

Mon, Sept 10   Workplace Research chapter 1, pp. 1-15  
Thurs, Sept 13   Workplace Research chapter 2, pp. 16-36 Individual project 3 assigned
Research exercise 3

          Unit 4: Inquiry and preparation

Mon, Sept 17 Individual project 3 Workplace Research chapter 3, pp. 37-60  
Thurs, Sept 20      
Mon, Sept  24   Workplace Research chapter 4, pp. 61-88 Research exercise 4
Collaborative project 1 assigned
Thurs, Sept  27      
Mon, Oct 1 Collaborative project 1 Workplace Research chapter 4, pp. 88-115  
Thurs, Oct 4     Research exercise 5

          Unit 5: Secondary research

Mon, Oct 8   Workplace Research chapter 5, pp. 116-38 Individual project 4 assigned
Wed, Oct 10 Withdrawal deadline

          Unit 6: Primary research

Mon, Oct 15   Workplace Research chapter 6, pp. 139-70  
Thurs, Oct 18     Research exercise 6
Mon, Oct 22 Individual project 4 Workplace Research chapter 6, pp. 170-84 Collaborative project 2 assigned
Thurs, Oct 25      

          Unit 7: Data analysis

Mon, Oct 29

Research exercise 7

Workplace Research chapter 7, pp. 185-207  
Thurs, Nov 1      
Mon, Nov 5 Collaborative project 2 Workplace Research chapter 7, pp. 207-22 Collaborative project 3 discussed
Thurs, Nov 8     Research exercise 8

          Unit 8: Effective deliverables

Mon, Nov 12   Workplace Research chapter 8, pp. 223-50 Collaborative project 3 specifics assigned
Thurs, Nov 15     Research exercise 9
Nov 18-25 Thanksgiving holiday
Mon, Nov 26 Individual project 5    
Thurs, Nov 29      
Mon, Dec 3   Research exercise 10  
FINALS WEEK
Fri, Dec 7
Collaborative project 3