Home button

Professional Writing 3170, spring 2018

Updated 1/18/18

Note that this schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.  I will make additions and adjustments as need arises, giving ample notice in class and on the web when making changes in the schedule.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Tues., Jan. 9     Introduction to course
Course syllabus
On plagiarism
Fri., Jan. 12 Student info (online) Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Preface, pp. 13-14
   –Introduction 15-22
D2L:Threaded discussion
Tues., Jan. 16   Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 1: Plain Language 25-32
   –Chap. 2: The Seven C's 33-59

Non-Designer's Design Book:
   –Chap. 2: Proximity 15-32
Writing exercise 1: Language
Sat., Jan. 20
12:00 noon
Writing exercise 2: Correctness (in D2L) Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 3: Correctness 60-94
 
Tues., Jan. 23  

Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 5: Basic Document Design 107-31

Non-Designer's Design Book:
   –Chap. 3: Alignment 33-54

MS Word skills
Fri., Jan. 26 Writing exercise 3: Copy-Editing

Individual project 1: Basic Forms
Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 4: Copy-Editing 95-104
 
Tues., Jan. 30   Non-Designer's Design Book:
   –Chaps. 4-5: Repetition & Contrast 55-84

MS Excel skills

Fri., Feb. 2 Writing exercise 4: Tables Non-Designer's Design Book:
   –Chap. 7: Design with Color 95-112
 
Tues., Feb. 6 Individual project 2: Logo Docs Non-Designer's Design Book:
   –Chap. 8: Tips and Tricks 113-44
MS Publisher skills
Fri., Feb. 9 Individual project 3: Fliers    
Tues., Feb. 13  

Non-Designer's Design Book:
   –Chaps. 9-10: Typography & Type 149-74

Graphics skills
Fri., Feb. 16 Writing exercise 5: Graphics    
Tues., Feb. 20   Non-Designer's Design Book:
   –Chaps. 11-12: Type Categories & Contrast 175-218
Google docs overview
Adobe Acrobat skills
Fri., Feb. 23      
Tues., Feb. 27 Collaborative project 1: Event docs Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 6: Formatting for Correspondence 133-47
 
Fri., Mar. 2      
Tues., Mar. 6   Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 7: Emails and Memos 151-58
 
Fri., Mar. 9 Individual project 4: Memos    
Mon. Mar. 12-
Fri. Mar. 16
Spring break Spring break Spring break
Tues., Mar. 20   Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 12: News Releases 221-34
InDesign overview
Fri., Mar. 23      
Tues., Mar. 27   Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 8: Letters (Good & Bad News) 159-73
 
Fri., Mar. 30 Individual project 5: Letters 1    
Tues., Apr. 3 Collaborative project 2: Newsletter Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 9: Persuasive Letters 175-87
Web publishing overview
Fri., Apr. 6 Individual project 6: Letters 2    
Tues., Apr. 10   Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 13: Brochures 235-42
Final portfolio assignment
Fri., Apr. 13   Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 14: Promotion on the Web 243-48
 
Tues., Apr. 17 Collaborative project 3: Brochures Business and Professional Writing:
  
–Chap. 17: Reports 275-97
Social media overview
Fri., Apr. 20      
Tues., Apr. 24     Portfolio workshopping
Fri., Apr. 27      
FINALS WEEK
Thurs., May 3